My testimony of the Book of Mormon

This morning I finished the Book of Mormon for the first time as a missionary and I want to share my testimony of this book with y’all! I’ve been feeling SO grateful for it lately.

This book is the word of God. It is evidence that He loves all His children everywhere.

It truly testifies of the Savior Jesus Christ. We can come closer to Him by studying this book than by anything else. It works together with the bible to teach us of His life and ministry.

This book changes lives. There is strength and power in it that you can get nowhere else.

These were real people and real events. There are their real testimonies of Christ. They had real struggles just like us.

I love these verses in Mormon chapter 8:

12 And whoso receiveth this record, and shall not condemn it because of the imperfections which are in it, the same shall know of greater things than these. Behold, I am Moroni; and were it possible, I would make all things known unto you.

14 And I am the same who hideth up this record unto the Lord; the plates thereof are of no worth, because of the commandment of the Lord. For he truly saith that no one shall have them to get gain; but the record thereof is of great worth; and whoso shall bring it to light, him will the Lord bless.

15 For none can have power to bring it to light save it be given him of God; for God wills that it shall be done with an eye single to his glory, or the welfare of the ancient and long dispersed covenant people of the Lord.

16 And blessed be he that shall bring this thing to light; for it shall be brought out of darkness unto light, according to the word of God; yea, it shall be brought out of the earth, and it shall shine forth out of darkness, and come unto the knowledge of the people; and it shall be done by the power of God.

This book is truly a light in the darkness! It can guide us if we let it! What a blessing that we have continuing revelation from God. He has never stopped talking to us and He never will!

The introduction of the Book of Mormon says this:

"We invite all men everywhere to read the Book of Mormon, to ponder in their hearts the message it contains, and then to ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ if the book is true. Those who pursue this course and ask in faith will gain a testimony of its truth and divinity by the power of the Holy Ghost. (See Moroni 10:3–5.)"

I echo my own testimony that this is true. If you pursue this book with an open heart you WILL gain a witness!
I will forever be grateful for this book and the way it has changed my life!

Ok now a little update on what happened this week!
Transfers were on Wednesday and it was crazy! So much fun to see all the other missionaries in Birmingham. President Sainsbury gave a really good training and it feels good to not be the newest missionaries anymore haha!

My new companion is Sister Saatkamp. (pronounced like sought-camp.) I absolutely adore her! She is from Ohio and legit an entire foot taller than me. It’s soooo funny. I can’t even tell you how many times we’ve been asked how tall we are. It was sad to say goodbye to Sister Griffith. I was so so blessed to have her as a trainer!

We have been doing looooots of finding these past few days. It has been hard to not have a single appointment BUT we are seeing the fruits of our labors and prayers are being answered left and right!

Yesterday both JC and Jacob passed the sacrament for the first time and I swear I have never smiled so big in my entire life!! They are both recent converts and Jacob is 12 and JC is 68. I cannot find the words to say how much I love both of them!

Love y’all! Have a blessed week!
All my love,
Sister Oscarson

​Best part of the week= seeing my soulmate and bff Sister Madsen


Leave a Reply

