Amen and roll tide

Hey y’all!

The transfer ends tomorrow! Can’t believe how quickly it went by. I have LOVED being able to serve with Sister Saatkamp. We have become dear friends and I look up to her so much! She is moving on to serve as STL in Millbrook! (near Montgomery) So so sad she was only in Russellville for 1 transfer but I’m positive she will do amazing things! Aaaaand I’m staying in Russellville and training a brand new missionary! I just barely finished being trained myself on Sunday… so this will be an adventure. I’m excited for this opportunity and chance to really really rely on the spirit. Also my beloved trainer Sister Griffith goes home this week! Crazy. She’ll get to be a grandma before she leaves! The mission is getting LOTS of changes this transfer. TONS of areas are getting white washed and several new areas are being opened. There are 6 missionaries in our ward and me and one of the elders are the only ones staying. They’re taking the elders out of infamous Red Bay and putting sisters in- super unexpected. It will be cool to see what happens!

Football season started this week, and I’m 100% convinced that the second coming could happen during a Bama game and the entire state wouldn’t even notice. Football is RELIGION here. We taught an older man about 2 hours before the game started on Saturday and I counted how many times he said "roll tide" during the lesson… 8. And we were only there for half an hour. After we said a closing prayer he said, "amen and roll tide." I love Alabama. Oh and they won like 64-7 or something like that, so the ward was veeeery happy the next day. I will forever be grateful college football plays on Saturday and not Sunday.

We had zone training last week and it was fantastic as usual. One of the principles I loved was to prepare as if the Lord will give you no help, and then ask for as much help from Him as possible. And that when we obtain ANY blessing from God, it was because we were obedient to him. We also talked a lot about John 21:15-19, when Christ asks 3 times if he loves Him. Verse 17 rings true:

"He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed my sheep."

How do we show that we love Him? It’s not enough to say that we love Him and we love His gospel. We show it by feeding his sheep. I have been thinking about that and studying these verses lots this week. So much to learn from it.

Have a blessed week and pray for my new greenie that I don’t mess her up lol.

All my love,
Sister Oscarson

​Sister Stark let us see the inside of her storm shelter!

​Tupelo North Zone!​

Leave a Reply

