Mississippi cotton fields and an Alabama fall

Hey y’all!

This week has been crazy insane! So much happened and I don’t even know where to start.

Well Wednesday was transfers and we left for Bham at 6 am. 2 sisters that I came out with, Sister Madsen and Sister Dustin, are also training this transfer so we sat in the trainer’s meeting together like, "we have no idea what we’re doing lol." But it was so fun to see them and catch up with them for a bit. I was able to see my whole MTC district again and it was the best day ever. Love them love them love them!
WAY COOL THING: so we’re waiting for transfers to start and I hear someone behind me, "MEGAN?!" And I’m like what the heck who knows my first name? I turn around and it’s Hayley Francis, one of my good friends from middle school and high school! She had just gotten to the mission! It was so crazy to see her here. To make it even better she’s being trained by my bff Sister Madsen!

President Sainsbury gave a fantastic training about how ultimately our message is that the tomb is empty! That subject has come up a couple other times this week, how glorious is it that that is our message?!

We got paired up with our trainees and my new companion is Sister Mathis from St. George! I adore her! She has such a strong desire and is so bold in declaring the word! We have lots of similarities and I can tell this is going to be a fantastic transfer! We drove back to Russellville and got right in to the work! I know I’m doing my job right when she’s exhausted at the end of the day 🙂
Training is super fun. I LOVE being able to show her how great Alabama is!!! She is doing great and loves being a missionary! I’m such a proud mom :’)

Yesterday we had a special stake conference in Tupelo with Elder Renlund and Elder Beheshti of the Seventy! We rode with Sister Stark and Sister Hart from the ward and they are the funniest little southern ladies ever! I for sure got a fair amount of laughs that day. We were able to see just a tiny bit of a Mississippi/Alabama fall emerging! It’s been just a tiny bit cooler lately, like low 90s, so there’s hope that fall will come! It’s cotton season so I also got to see cotton fields! They are GORGEOUS! I’m never leaving the south.

But the conference was fantastic! Elder Renlund talked about how the restoration is the answer to EVERYTHING. Every challenge, every question, every doubt. He said, "Nothing about us can be answered without going back to the Sacred Grove."

Since it was 9/11 he addressed the question, "Why doesn’t God do anything about all the horrible tragedies in the world?"
He already has. He did a long time ago. He did something about it when the tomb was found empty. He did something about it when all the chains of death were broken. He did something about it when He had to watch His son suffer in the Garden. It was always in the plan to do something about it.

Elder Ruenlund took the time to meet every single one of us which was incredibly sweet and such a blessing for the members of the stake. I’m positive they won’t forget that day for a long time.

Elder Beheshti invited each of us to review the account of the First Vision in the next few days. I did it during personal study this morning and I learned so much from it! We recite it so much as missionaries and sadly I think it has just started to become routine for me. BUT I’m not letting that happen anymore! The end of verse 26 really struck me:

"I had found the testimony of James to be true—that a man who lacked wisdom might ask of God, and obtain, and not be upbraided."

All of this was because young Joseph had the courage to put a promise in the scriptures to the test. Now he is able to say with a surety that the promise in James is true. What if we all put scriptural promises from God to the test?

Have a blessed week and ROLL TIDE!
All my love,
Sister Oscarson

​3 generations! :’)

Leave a Reply

