He lives, and while He lives, I’ll sing!

Hey y’all!

So many great things happened this week! I’ll start off with a cool one that happened on Friday.

Last week we were calling past missionary contacts from the area book. We called someone named Colton and he agreed to meet with us Friday morning. We found his house and parked around the corner and went and knocked and no answer. We went back to our car that was around the corner and before I drove off we noticed a squirrel trying to hop down a roof. It was SUPER funny. We probably watched and laughed at this squirrel for at least 3 minutes. While we were distracted by this squirrel a guy comes up to us and points to his house and says, "hey were y’all trying knock on my door? We just pulled up." It was Colton! We were able to teach him and his dad and his girlfriend. Earlier in the week they had been talking about needing to get back into a church and then we called them! They definitely recognized it as a sign from God! We would have missed them if we hadn’t stopped to watch that squirrel! God works in mysterious ways, even through squirrels. πŸ™‚

Thursday we got to go to THE TEMPLE!!! Best day ever. I didn’t realize how much I missed the temple and it was such a blessing to be able to go! The Birmingham temple is so beautiful. I was able to see soooo many missionaries that I love and haven’t seen in a while. I learned so much in the temple and it was the best refresher!

Jumping all over the place here but Monday night we ended up with 2 dinner appointments in a row. It was painful to say the very least. I was really struggling to finish the second one. I know Sister Mathis loves me because she reached over and took half my pork chop and put it on her plate and ate it even though she was just as full as I was. #bestcompanionever

Saturday was an amazing day because JOSH AND LOIS AND BRITTANY GOT BAPTIZED!!!!! The Russellville elders have been teaching them the whole time I’ve been here. They are just the sweetest people and I love them so so so much! Lois and Brittany asked us to do their hair and makeup before and it was so much fun to be able to help them get ready! Afterwards, Brittany, who is 15 said to me, "I think I’ll have maybe 1 or 2 kids and then they can do this too!" And I was like "YESSSSSS yes they can!" Dang it was the happiest day ever.

And then we got to watch the women’s session of conference!! I loved it more than anything! So many wonderful principles taught. Especially when my homegirl Sister Oscarson spoke πŸ˜‰

I have been counting down the days until general conference for a long time and I can’t tell you how happy I am that it’s here!

Until next Monday! Love y’all and ROLL TIDE!

All my love,

Sister Oscarson

​

​

​

​w

​

One thought on “He lives, and while He lives, I’ll sing!

  1. rbpaplp says:

    I love getting your emails. Enjoyed the story about the squirrel. Roll Tide – I thought it was Go Tide. Oh well. That is probably a detergent commercial! Is the Birmingham temple one of the smaller ones? We have been to some of the ones in the South, but not in Alabama. We were able to go to the SL Temple on Wednesday with the departing missionaries from the Provo Mission, where our grandson, Zach is serving. It was so fun to see him. He just glows. We will go pick him up on Sunday and he will stay overnight so we can take him to the airport early Monday morning. His 2 years have really flown. Have a good week. Keep smiling!

    Love, Pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

