“I wasn’t born in the south, but I came here as quick as I could!”

Hey y’all!!

Remember how last week we were in a state of emergency because of the winter storm? This week has been gorgeous and in the 70s, I don’t think I’ve worn a jacket all week! I’m not complaining one bit.

Bama lost the championship game in the last 9 seconds after an undefeated season. Let me tell you… the whole state (except the Auburn fans) has been in mourning all week. Tuesday morning we swear there was a palpable feeling of defeat in the air haha! The whole state revolves around football. Now they’re counting down the days until the next season starts!

This week our investigator Miss Ruth has been progressing leaps and bounds! She is the sweetest sweetest lady.She had never prayed in front of us but last week she said the closing prayer and there has been an incredible amount of change in her ever since! She is reading the Book of Mormon and praying about a baptism date! She said, "the Lord’s working with me! I can feel it!" We love Miss Ruth!

We were able to stop by and see Brittany very briefly, and she is almost done with 2 Nephi and we’ve only taught her twice! She has such pure intentions and a good heart.

Friday was MLC! I love MLC so much! It is so fun to see everyone and learn from President and Sister Sainsbury. This MLC was very focused on the Book of Mormon and helping investigators access the power in it. Man, it was powerful! On our way home from MLC we were able to stop by an investigator’s house and teach the Book of Mormon. It was so cool to be able to use all the things we had just learned. We are so excited to share them with our zone at zone training tomorrow! What an incredible gift the Book of Mormon is.

Saturday we were able to meet with the zone leaders and plan out the transfer for our zone! We are so so excited!We have some really amazing missionaries here. I feel so blessed to an STL in the best zone in the mission!

Sunday night was hilarious. We went to a dinner appointment with some members who live wayyyy out in the backwoods. (that’s something I super love about this area. Loooooots of backwoods. It’s my very favorite thing!) Brother Carlisle is one of the most southern men I have ever met in my life. He smoked ribs and let me tell you there’s nothing like it! He showed us his gun room and he has 127 guns all on display. It was a sight for sure. He always carries when he leaves the house and he showed us he has a special gun he carries to church in his scripture case, a church gun haha! I died because it was so Alabama. And then he said something that made me laugh even harder, "I go to the gun shop every Saturday, it’s just like goin’ to church!"

Be blessed y’all!
All my love,
Sister Oscarson

​I love Sister Saatkamp!

Leave a Reply

