By the obedience of one

Hey y’all!

Yep… it’s definitely summer in Alabama! The humidity and temperatures are climbing and southern summer nights are still my favorite thing in the whole world!

On Wednesday night we were able to have a really great lesson with Jared! Sister Jones, the relief society president came with us and I absolutely adore her! We ended up veering from the original lesson plan and talked about the atonement the whole time. Let me tell you, it was POWERFUL. You could definitely tell that he was feeling something. At the end he prayed for the first time in a long time! It was the greatest prayer ever! He started it out, "dear God… I’m new at this so you’re gonna have to bear with me." Gahhhh it’s these times when I just love being a missionary more than anything!

The most exciting thing that happened this week was that James came to church!!!!! James is the Deaf man I contacted a couple weeks ago when I first got here! We hadn’t even taught him anything, I had just given him a restoration pamphlet. And then later he called us through TTY and told us he wanted to come to church! So I was stressed out of my minddddd and practiced signing sooo much all week. It was amazing because when we were at church it all came back to me even though I haven’t signed in so long! I had forgotten how much I love signing and it felt sooooo good to sign again! The gift of tongues is real and I am so grateful! James loved church! And then during 2nd hour, Nicole, a former investigator who hasn’t been to church in a long time totally surprised us and showed up! And she’s going to youth conference this week!

Here’s a scripture that really struck me recently:
Romans 5:19-
"For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so by the obedience of one shall many be made righteous."

This is talking about Christ and how His obedience to His Father made it possible for us to made clean. Because He chose to be obedient it made all the difference for us! Think about that! Think about the difference one obedient person can make.

Have a blessed week!
All my love,
Sister Oscarson

Leave a Reply

